Engage

Sometimes when we look we aren’t really seeing, much like when we listen we only hear or when we speak it’s without thought. It is an act we may not be conscious to, but when did people stop understanding, stop taking time to being aware? When did it become such an inconvenience to actually understand the words people speak, or to fully engage in things right in front of our fucking faces.

Not to long ago It was brought to my attention, and its funny I wasn’t even aware of it until It was slammed in my face, that I was doing just that. Someone who I cared much about called me out on it straight. They were right. I was there, but was I? I didn’t like to hear it of course, no one likes to hear bad things about themselves. But I am thankful everyday that it was pointed out to me. I make a conscious effort daily to fully engage myself in things now. To work hard, stay busy, and be fully engaged in everything I do. Not to just be a body but to be a contributor or participant. To look and see, listen and understand, to fully engage.

Its funnier now because I notice it in other people all the time, and it drives me insane! Put your phone away, appreciate your surroundings and the people in them. Stop half-assing things, use your full ass. Don’t just be there, play an active role in whatever it is your doing. Work hard and be successful.

“Attention is the rarest and purest form of generosity.”

Maybe this post is a little all over the map..

But, If I could encourage the little people in my life i.e. my nieces and nephew who I hold very dear to my heart – or anyone for that matter, to do something, it would be to put their whole selves into things. Whether its a conversation, a sport, a hobby, work, a project, food, a book – anything. Engage. Turn off your phone, close your lips, open your eyes, listen to things and appreciate everything.

thatgymgirl

Leave a comment